Merchants of Truth: The Business of News and the Fight for Facts

Category: Book
By (author): Abramson, Jill
Subject:  BUSINESS & ECONOMICS / Industries / Media & Communications
  COMPUTERS / Digital Media / General
  LANGUAGE ARTS & DISCIPLINES / Journalism
  NON-FICTION / General
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Published: February 2019
Format: Book-hardcover
Pages: 544
Size: 9.00in x 6.00in
Our Price:
$ 39.99
Availability:
In stock

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*The definitive report on the disruption of the news media over the last decade. With the expert guidance of former Executive Editor of The New York Times Jill Abramson, we follow two legacy (The New York Times and The Washington Post) and two upstart (BuzzFeed and VICE) companies as they plow through a revolution in technology, economics, standards, commitment, and endurance that pits old vs. new media.

Merchants of Truth is the groundbreaking and gripping story of the precarious state of the news business told by one of our most eminent journalists.

Jill Abramson follows four companies: The New York Times, The Washington Post, BuzzFeed, and VICE Media over a decade of disruption and radical adjustment. The new digital reality nearly kills two venerable newspapers with an aging readership while creating two media behemoths with a ballooning and fickle audience of millennials. We get to know the defenders of the legacy presses as well as the outsized characters who are creating the new speed-driven media competitors. The players include Jeff Bezos and Marty Baron (The Washington Post), Arthur Sulzberger and Dean Baquet (The New York Times), Jonah Peretti (BuzzFeed), and Shane Smith (VICE) as well as their reporters and anxious readers.

Merchants of Truth raises crucial questions that concern the well-being of our society. We are facing a crisis in trust that threatens the free press. Abramson's book points us to the future.
Review Quote*"In the tradition of David Halberstam's The Powers That Be, Jill Abramson has woven amazing reporting with sharp insights and personal experiences to capture a momentous transformation in journalism. Filled with colorful inside stories, this book is essential for anyone who wants to understand today's media and how it is affecting our society."-Walter Isaacson, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Steve Jobs and Leonardo da Vinci
Review Quote*"Jill Abramson tells the truth about the news business as only she can tell it. Merchants of Truth is a deeply researched, wonderfully written, and filled with fascinating portraits. It is an important book at a crucial time."-Gay Talese, author of The Kingdom and the Power
Review Quote*"Jill Abramson provides this deeply reported insider account of an industry fighting for survival. With a keen eye for detail and a willingness to interrogate her own profession, Abramson takes readers into the newsrooms and boardrooms of the legacy newspapers and the digital upstarts that seek to challenge their dominance."-Gabriel Sherman, Vanity Fair
Review Quote*"Jill Abramson's superb Merchants of Truth is a deep-dive chronicle of how four different news organizations are handling the rough-water transition to the online universe. The book is an outstanding work of investigative reporting and storytelling. A great work of journalism about journalism that recalls David Halberstam's classic The Powers That Be, Merchants of Truth is powerfully told with fresh detail and insights."-Lesley Stahl, award-winning 60 Minutes correspondent
Review Quote*"A highly readable combination of significant topic, deep reporting, endlessly fascinating anecdotes, and vivid writing."-Kirkus, Starred Review
Review Quote*"The internet killed off and resurrected journalism in unpredictable, hopeful, but corrupted ways, according to this scintillating insider's history…Abramson's shrewd, stylishly written account includes colorful characters…and savvy portraits of newsroom dynamics. The result is one of the best takes yet on journalism's changing fortunes."-Publishers Weekly, Starred Review
Review Quote*"As a former executive editor of the New York Times, Abramson was uniquely situated to observe the changes that are affecting the ways in which media companies develop and distribute news and information… Abramson offers an engrossing ‘behind the curtains' journey into the demanding business of modern media. High-demand backstory: Abramson's expert and frank assessment of the struggles of the press in the ‘fake news' era will attract avid attention."-Booklist, Starred Review