Josephine Baker's Last Dance

Category: Book
By (author): Jones, Sherry
Subject:  FICTION / African American / Contemporary Women
  FICTION / African American / Historical
  FICTION / General
Publisher: Gallery Books
Published: December 2018
Format: Book-paperback
Pages: 384
Size: 8.25in x 5.31in
Our Price:
$ 22.00
Availability:
In stock

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*From the author of The Jewel of Medina, a moving and insightful novel based on the life of legendary performer and activist Josephine Baker, perfect for fans of The Paris Wife and Hidden Figures.

Discover the fascinating and singular life story of Josephine Baker-actress, singer, dancer, Civil Rights activist, member of the French Resistance during WWII, and a woman dedicated to erasing prejudice and creating a more equitable world-in Josephine Baker's Last Dance.

In this illuminating biographical novel, Sherry Jones brings to life Josephine's early years in servitude and poverty in America, her rise to fame as a showgirl in her famous banana skirt, her activism against discrimination, and her many loves and losses. From 1920s Paris to 1960s Washington, to her final, triumphant performance, one of the most extraordinary lives of the twentieth century comes to stunning life on the page.

With intimate prose and comprehensive research, Sherry Jones brings this remarkable and compelling public figure into focus for the first time in a joyous celebration of a life lived in technicolor, a powerful woman who continues to inspire today.