Phone Number
Phone Number

The Girl Who Wrote in Silk

Category: Book
By (author): Estes, Kelli
Subject:  FICTION / Asian American
  FICTION / Contemporary Women
  FICTION / General
  FICTION / Historical
Publisher: Sourcebooks
Published: July 2015
Format: Book-paperback
Pages: 400
Size: 8.25in x 5.50in x 1.50in
Our Price:
$ 21.99
Availability:
Available to order

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*

A USA TODAY BESTSELLER!

A historical novel inspired by true events, Kelli Estes's brilliant and atmospheric debut is a poignant tale of two women determined to do the right thing and the power of our own stories.

The smallest items can hold centuries of secrets...

Inara Erickson is exploring her deceased aunt's island estate when she finds an elaborately stitched piece of fabric hidden in the house. As she peels back layer upon layer of the secrets it holds, Inara's life becomes interwoven with that of Mei Lein, a young Chinese girl mysteriously driven from her home a century before. Through the stories Mei Lein tells in silk, Inara uncovers a tragic truth that will shake her family to its core-and force her to make an impossible choice.

A touching and tender book for fans of Marie Benedict, Susanna Kearsley, and Duncan Jepson.

Review Quote*"The Girl Who Wrote in Silk is a beautiful story that brought me to tears more than once, and was a testament to the endurance of the human spirit and the human heart. A powerful debut that proves the threads that interweave our lives can withstand time and any tide, and bind our hearts forever." - Susanna Kearsley, New York Times bestselling author of A Desperate Fortune and The Firebird
Review Quote*"The Girl Who Wrote in Silk is a beautiful, elegiac novel, as finely and delicately woven as the title suggests. Kelli Estes spins a spellbinding tale that illuminates the past in all its brutality and beauty, and the humanity that binds us all together." - Susan Wiggs, New York Times bestselling author of The Beekeeper's Ball
Review Quote*"A touching and tender story about discovering the past to bring peace to the present." - Duncan Jepson, author of All the Flowers in Shanghai
Review Quote*"Estes sheds light on a dark period in Seattle's history that is sure to interest those seeking unusual historical details long hidden from history books. 4 Stars." - RT Book Reviews
Biographical NoteKelli Estes lived in the deserts of eastern Washington state and Arizona before settling in the Seattle area, which she loves so much she plans to forever live near the water. She's passionate about stories that help us see how the past shaped who we are today, and how we all have more in common than not. She lives in the Pacific Northwest with her family. This is her first novel.