The Miniaturist

Category: Book
By (author): Burton, Jessie
Subject:  FICTION / General
Audience: general/trade
Publisher: HarperCollins
Published: July 2015
Format: Book-paperback
Pages: 416
Size: 8.00in x 5.31in x 0.93in
Our Price:
$ 17.99
Availability:
In stock

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*

Sold in over thirty territories, this evocative debut in the tradition of Sarah Dunant, Tracey Chevalier and Emma Donoghue is set among a wealthy, dysfunctional family living in Amsterdam in 1686 during the decline of the Dutch Golden Age

"There is nothing hidden that will not be revealed . . ."

On an autumn day in 1686, eighteen-year-old Nella Oortman knocks at the door of a grand house in the wealthiest quarter of Amsterdam. She has come from the country to begin a new life as the wife of the illustrious merchant trader Johannes Brandt, but instead she is met by his sharp-tongued sister, Marin. Only later does Johannes appear and present her with an extraordinary wedding gift: a cabinet-sized replica of their home. It is to be furnished by an elusive miniaturist, whose tiny creations mirror their real-life counterparts in unexpected ways . . .

Nella is at first mystified by the closed world of the Brandt household, but as she uncovers its secrets she realizes the escalating dangers that await them all. Does the miniaturist hold their fate in her hands? And will she be the key to their salvation or the architect of their downfall?

Beautiful, intoxicating and filled with heart-pounding suspense, The Miniaturist is a magnificent story of love and obsession, betrayal and retribution, appearance and truth.

Review Quote*

"A fabulously gripping read that will appeal to fans of Girl With a Pearl Earring and The Goldfinch, but Burton is a genuinely new voice with her visceral take on sex, race and class." -THE GUARDIAN (UK)

"The Miniaturist is that rarest of things-beautifully written, yet also a compelling page-turner. It's haunting, magical and full of surprises, the kind of book that reminds you why you fell in love with reading." -S. J. WATSON, AUTHOR OF BEFORE I GO TO SLEEP

"Utterly transporting. . . . One of those rare debut novels that excels in every regard. . . . My first instinct on finishing this book was to immediately read it again." -HANNAH KENT, AUTHOR OF BURIAL RITES

"Burton's writing is expressive and descriptive. While her prose is rich, it does not overwhelm the story. . . . This historical novel with its strong female characters will appeal to those who enjoy the haunting undercurrents of Carlos Ruiz Zafon's The Shadow of the Wind." -LIBRARY JOURNAL

"This debut novel, set in 17th-century Amsterdam, hits all the marks of crossover success: taut suspense, a plucky heroine and a possibly clairvoyant miniature-furniture designer." -NEW YORK MAGAZINE