All That Man Is

Category: Book
By (author): Szalay, David
Subject:  FICTION / Canadian
  FICTION / Short Stories (single author)
Publisher: McClelland & Stewart
Published: May 2016
Format: Book-paperback
Pages: 448
Size: 8.20in x 5.50in x 0.90in
Our Price:
$ 26.00
Availability:
Available: 3-10 days

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*These are brilliantly observed, large-hearted stories by a young writer that herald the introduction to a North American audience a major and mature literary talent. For readers of David Bezmozgis, Nathan Englander, Neil Smith, John Cheever, and Milan Kundera.
In this stunningly accomplished work, award-winning author David Szalay explores the terrain of manhood. Inhabited by characters at different stages in their lives, ranging from the teenage years to old age, this virtuoso collection portrays men in utterly real and compelling terms as they grapple with relationships and masculinity. Set in various European cities, the stories are dark and disturbing, some almost surreal, but always with accute psychological insight that renders them fascinating. They deal with pride and greed, jealousy and love, grief and loneliness. Funny and heart-achingly sad, sometimes shocking, because the stories are invariably true to life, this is a collection to be read and savoured.
Review Quote*Praise for All That Man Is:
"[If] you are unfamiliar with [Szalay's] work, let me urge you to read him since, on this evidence, he is one of those rare writers with skill in all the disciplines that first-rate fiction requires. Szalay's writing is virtuosic whether observing external realities or psychology . . . he also has a prose style that marries nuance and precision with a kinetic cadence; his language is energetically alive throughout. . . . These are the best stories I've read for ages."- The Guardian 

"All That Man Is [is] the perfect vehicle for his [Szalay's] particular talent. That talent is noticing. Like John Updike, he not only perceives the banal, everyday world in an acute and photographic way but he can also translate it into high-definition prose. All That Man Is is a showcase for Szalay's virtuosic range."- Telegraph

"Each story is a beautifully crystallised vision of what it is for a man to be a particular age . . . Szalay's forensic untangling of their psyches, and his talent for painting delicious destinations . . . make you want to journey with them to the bitter end. . . . It's hard to imagine reading a better book this year."- The Times

"His [Szalay's] new book is populated by small men with oversized ambitions. . . . Far from celebrating man's infinite variety, the book reveals his endless repetitiveness. One of Szalay's strengths is that he is able to reveal his characters' limitations- and, quite often, their absurdities- without mocking them. . . . [He] is capable of conjuring tenderness from any situation. . . . [Readers] will find a great deal to enjoy in these pages, and further evidence that Szalay is one of the best fortysomething writers we have."- The Guardian 

"Each story grips the reader by the throat. We fully inhabit their progression of heroes and finally face the dreadful truth of the human condition: that nothing is eternal, not us, not our children, the human race, the Earth nor the stars. Rarely has it been so brilliantly and chillingly spelled out."- Daily Mail 

Praise for David Szalay's work:

 • "He is a writer who can take you anywhere." The Sunday Times
 • "Anyone who appreciated Martin Amis's Koba the Dread and Orlando Figes's The Whisperers will love it, as will fans of The Lives of Others or Burnt by the Sun. As with both films, the theme of silent, regret-filled horror is beautifully, chillingly captured." Viv Groskop, The Observer
 • "Like Milan Kundera, Szalay positions his characters somewhere along the endlessly contested lines that he draws between comedy and something subtler, less showy, and altogether sadder than tragedy." The Guardian, Chris Cleave, author of Little Bee
Biographical NoteDAVID SZALAY was born in Montreal in 1974, moved to the UK the following year and has lived there for many years until recently moving to a small town in Hungary. He went to Oxford University and has written a number of radio dramas for the BBC, as well as three previous novels. He won the Betty Trask Prize for his first novel London and the South-East, along with the Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize. He was recently named one of The Telegraph's Top 20 British Writers under 40 and has also made it onto Granta magazine's 2013 list of the Best of Young British Novelists. The author lives in Hungary.