Company Town - Canadian Edition

Category: Book
By (author): Ashby, Madeline
Subject:  FICTION / Canadian
  FICTION / Science Fiction / Genetic Engineering
Audience: general/trade
Publisher: Tor/Forge
Published: February 2017
Format: Book-paperback
Pages: 288
Size: 8.23in x 5.49in x 0.00in
Our Price:
$ 20.99
Availability:
In stock

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*Madeline Ashby's Company Town is a brilliant, twisted mystery, as one woman must evaluate saving the people of a town that can't be saved, or saving herself. Elegant, cruel, and brutally perfect, Company Town is a prize of a novel." - Mira Grant, New York Times Bestselling and Hugo-Award nominated author of the Newsflesh series New Arcadia is a city-sized oil rig off the coast of the Canadian Maritimes, now owned by one very wealthy, powerful, byzantine family: Lynch Ltd. Hwa is of the few people in her community (which constitutes the whole rig) to forgo bio-engineered enhancements. As such, she's the last truly organic person left on the rig - making her doubly an outsider, as well as a neglected daughter and bodyguard extraordinaire. Still, her expertise in the arts of self-defense and her record as a fighter mean that her services are yet in high demand. When the youngest Lynch needs training and protection, the family turns to Hwa. But can even she protect against increasingly intense death threats seemingly coming from another timeline? Meanwhile, a series of interconnected murders threatens the city's stability and heightens the unease of a rig turning over. All signs point to a nearly invisible serial killer, but all of the murders seem to lead right back to Hwa's front door. Company Town has never been the safest place to be - but now, the danger is personal. Perfect for Fans of Margaret Atwood, David Lynch, and Sense8 . "
Review Quote*A thrilling near-future noir mystery… .A fascinating book from a writer with great vision." - Charlaine Harris, author of the Sookie Stackhouse Novels series "A thrilling near-future noir mystery… .A fascinating book from a writer with great vision." - Charlaine Harris, author of the Sookie Stackhouse Novels series "Smart, weird dystopia." - Margaret Atwood "The skill with which Ashby introduces her various SF elements is worthy of the best Heinlein… . Company Town never falters in its pacing. It's a terrific ride." - Locus "This is brave, bold, crazy storytelling at the edge and doesn't read like anything else I've seen up or down the pike." - Chuck Wendig, New York Times bestselling author of Aftermath "A brilliant and chilling look at our post-oil future. I haven't been this hooked by an SF novel for ages." - Charles Stross, author of the Laundry Files series "Loved Company Town, Madeline Ashby's wonderfully imaginative new sci-fi mystery with a fascinating female protagonist." - Feminist Frequency "The world is an updated version of Raymond Chandler's, with gray morals and broken characters, and Hwa's internal monologue has just the right balance of introspection and wit… [a] very solid page-turner." - Publishers Weekly "A fascinating mix of detective noir and near-future SF with cinematic world building and a broken, but resilient, unquestionably badass heroine." - Booklist "
Biographical NoteMadeline Ashby grew up in a household populated by science fiction fans. After meeting Ursula K. Le Guin in the basement of the Elliott Bay Book Company that year, she decided to start writing science fiction stories. While immigrating to Canada from the United States in 2006 , she joined the Cecil Street Irregulars - a genre writers' workshop founded by Judith Merril. Since then she has been published in Tesseracts, Flurb, Nature, Escape Pod and elsewhere. She has a masters degree in Manga and Anime and writes on such matters for io9, Tor.com and Boing Boing. Currently she works as a strategic foresight consultant in Toronto. Beginning in December 2014, she is also a regular columnist for the Ottawa Citizen.