Grief Works: Stories of Life, Death and Surviving

Category: Book
By (author): Samuel, Julia
Subject:  FAMILY & RELATIONSHIPS / Death, Grief, Bereavement
  NON-FICTION / General
  SELF-HELP / Death, Grief, Bereavement
  SOCIAL SCIENCE / Death & Dying
Publisher: Doubleday Canada
Published: December 2017
Format: Book-hardcover
Pages: 320
Size: 8.00in x 5.18in
Our Price:
$ 29.95
Availability:
In stock

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*A warm, moving and practical guide to grief from a leading bereavement counsellor, Grief Works features deeply affecting case studies of the author's clients, which will appeal to readers of Atul Gawande's Being Mortal, Stephen Grosz's The Unexamined Life and Paul Kalanithi's When Breath Becomes Air.

Death is the last taboo in our society, and grief is still profoundly misunderstood. So many of us feel awkward and uncertain around death, and shy away from talking honestly with family and friends. Grief Works is a compassionate guide that will inform and engage anyone who is grieving, from the "expected" death of a parent to the sudden unexpected death of a small child, and provide clear advice for those seeking to comfort the bereaved.
    
With deeply moving case studies of real people's stories of loss, and brilliantly accessible and practical advice, Grief Works will be passed down through generations as the definitive guide for anyone who has lost a loved one, and
revolutionize the way we talk about life, loss and death.
Review Quote*"In this moving and insightful debut, Samuel offers an accessible handbook for anyone undergoing this experience [of grief], eloquently steering readers through the progression of understanding and accepting pain in order to move on in their lives. . . . As a guide for the newly grieving, the book succeeds on many levels, and the author's compassionate storytelling skills provide even broader appeal. Though often touching on profoundly sad situations, Samuel's stories and reflections consistently hit an authentically inspiring note." -Kirkus Reviews, starred review
Biographical NoteJULIA SAMUEL is a grief psychotherapist who has spent the last twenty-five years working with bereaved families, both in private practice and at a major London hospital, where she pioneered the role of maternity and paediatric counsellor. She is Founder Patron of Child Bereavement UK, where she continues to play a central role. Grief Works is her firstbook. Find out more at www.griefworks.co.uk.