The Dead Husband Project

Category: Book
By (author): Meehan Sirk, Sarah
Subject:  FICTION / General
  FICTION / Literary
  FICTION / Short Stories (single author)
Publisher: Doubleday Canada
Published: August 2017
Format: Book-paperback
Pages: 256
Size: 8.00in x 5.18in
Our Price:
$ 22.00
Availability:
Available: 3-10 days

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*Perfect for readers of George Saunders, Jennifer Egan and Heather O'Neill, a rich and inventive collection of exquisite short stories by a major newcomer to Canadian literature.

In this deeply felt, compulsive and edgy work, Sarah Meehan Sirk shines a distinctive light on love and death in their many incarnations, pushing against the limits of the absurd while exposing piercing emotional truths about what it means to be gloriously, maddeningly alive.
     In "The Dead Husband Project," an artist who has planned to make an installation out of her terminally ill husband's dead body has to recalibrate when his diagnosis changes. In "The Date," an online dating match takes an unusual turn when the man who shows up to the restaurant has no face. In "Ozk," a young girl longs to connect with her socially isolated mother, a professor of mathematics who makes a radical discovery.
     Uncanny, sometimes violent, achingly sad and always profound, these stories showcase a writer with skill and empathy, and draw us in with a steady, unyielding grip.
Biographical NoteSARAH MEEHAN SIRK is a writer, producer and broadcaster. Her short fiction has appeared in The New Quarterly, PRISM international, Room and Taddle Creek, and her story "Moonman" is anthologized in Journey Prize Stories 27. For the CBC, she co-produced and hosted the popular 2015 Radio One series Stripped, has worked on Q (now q) and DNTO and is a founding producer of Day 6 with Brent Bambury. She studied math and philosophy at the University of Toronto, and was mentored by David Adams Richards at the Humber School for Writers. She lives in Toronto with her young family and is working on her first novel.