One Day We'll All Be Dead and None of This Will Matter: Essays

Category: Book
By (author): Koul, Scaachi
Subject:  HUMOR / Form / Essays
  HUMOR / General
  NON-FICTION / Canadian
Publisher: Doubleday Canada
Published: March 2017
Format: Book-hardcover
Pages: 256
Size: 8.25in x 5.50in
Our Price:
$ 25.00
Availability:
Available: 3-10 days

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*For readers of Mindy Kaling, Jenny Lawson and Roxane Gay, a debut collection of fierce and funny essays about growing up the daughter of Indian immigrants in Canada, "a land of ice and casual racism," by the irreverent, hilarious cultural observer and incomparable rising star, Scaachi Koul.

In One Day We'll All Be Dead and None of This Will Matter, Scaachi deploys her razor-sharp humour to share her fears, outrages and mortifying experiences as an outsider growing up in Canada. Her subjects range from shaving her knuckles in grade school, to a shopping trip gone horribly awry, to dealing with internet trolls, to feeling out of place at an Indian wedding (as an Indian woman), to parsing the trajectory of fears and anxieties that pressed upon her immigrant parents and bled down a generation. Alongside these personal stories are pointed observations about life as a woman of colour, where every aspect of her appearance is open for critique, derision or outright scorn. Where strict gender rules bind in both Western and Indian cultures, forcing her to confront questions about gender dynamics, racial tensions, ethnic stereotypes and her father's creeping mortality-all as she tries to find her feet in the world.
     With a clear eye and biting wit, Scaachi Koul explores the absurdity of a life steeped in misery. And through these intimate, wise and laugh-out-loud funny dispatches, a portrait of a bright new literary voice emerges.
Review Quote*"At once hilarious and passionate, razor sharp and free flowing, this fearless collection of essays proves why Scaachi Koul's voice will set the agenda for how we talk racial and sexual politics for years to come. A masterful storyteller and a full-time provocateur, Koul challenges, entertains, educates-and along the way has written a gorgeous love letter to her family roots and women everywhere." -Kamal Al-Solaylee, award-winning author of Brown and Intolerable

Praise for Scaachi Koul:

 • "As occasionally happens with writers, Scaachi first caught my eye on Twitter where she was consistently witty and delightful enough that I began to seek out, and then eagerly anticipate, her long form work. Scaachi's writing is flat-out funny, well-observed, never maudlin and yet sometimes sincerely, hilariously, moving. A fresh yet (and this is uncommon in one so young) refined voice. She knows what she's doing. I'd read anything she writes, buy stock in her if I could." -Tabatha Southey, columnist at The Globe and Mail and Elle
 • "Scaachi Koul has a way with words. She yells at them and punches them in the arm and calls them a baby until they do what she wants. A sculptor whose clay is anger, she hollers 'Don't be a baby, you dumb words,' until honest, insightful, occasionally funny sentences are formed. It couldn't be that she is just good at writing. That can't be it." -Corey Mintz, author of How To Host A Dinner Party
Biographical NoteSCAACHI KOUL was born and raised in Calgary, Alberta, and is a senior writer at BuzzFeed Canada. Her writing has also appeared in The New Yorker, The Hairpin, The Globe and Mail and Jezebel. One Day We'll All Be Dead and None of This Will Matter is her first book. She lives in Toronto.